sneakervdayI have a long weekend, a self-imposed time out. 96 hours of….whatever.

My day started bright and early with Nanette, my nutritionist. Since I signed up for the Detroit Free Press marathon, and have no idea why (let alone what I’m doing), I knew I needed to touch base to see what I should and should not be putting on my plate. When Nanette said it was important to stick to a meal plan and all the digits (calories, carbs, fat, protein, water, etc.), and stressed – more than once – not doing so could cause me to really hurt myself, I took a quick breath and considered not running the marathon at all.

You know, quit. Give up. Say-lah-vee.

Not an option.

You know I mentioned I have no idea of what I’m doing, right?  I poked around a bit online and learned stuff:

  • Most runners are little, like my cousin Tina. I am not, nor have I ever been, little.
  • Many competitors don’t make it to the starting line. Fatigue, illness, physical problems take over.
  • Training can kill you (no joke-it’s on the internet!)
  • Injuries (slyly called “health risks) can occur: tendonitis, fatigue, knee or ankle sprains. Cool. I have tendonitis, bursitis, arthritis in both knees and a tear.

I will be investing in sneakers this year, and various tapes, wraps, ice bags, ibuprofen, an ambulance full of hot guys cleverly disguised as responsible paramedics on stand-by.

Comments
  1. Tina says:

    Have you ever heard the saying “size doesn’t matter”? Will in this case…it doesn’t. Your closing sentence sounds like you have this running thing figured out!

Leave a Reply

