sneakersonaledgeOh please.

The words don’t, can’t, too hard have been uttered by yours truly more times than I could ever possibly count. I am a recovering addict. I don’t want to quit; I can’t stop; It’s too hard to function sober. What totally blows my mind: similar excuses are uttered by obese people and/or people who make comments about not being healthy:

I don’t have the time to workout. I can’t afford a gym membership. It’s too hard to make those changes. I love food. I don’t want to exercise/eat healthy.

(I heard someone say that last one)

Excuses foster fear and failure. I didn’t think much about that until I read it somewhere, but it is true. Unless you’re willing to curb the excuses and make a commitment to change your lifestyle – you’ll never change. You’ll always have an excuse, fear and failure will always be the dark cloud which hovers above you. But it doesn’t have to be that way:

I don’t have the time to workout and I can’t afford a gym membership. Dude. How much time do you spend on Facebook? Do you have a DVR? How about a subscription to Netflix or Hulu Plus? Unless you’re the parent who can’t even find time to pee because their family has grown and multiplied, you have time  and can afford to workout (and a gym membership is not required).

It’s hard to make those changes. Yep. It is. But tying your shoelaces while subsequently suffocating yourself is a lot harder. Just sayin’.

I love food. Okay. Nobody said you had to break up. I’ve been known to sleep with my food.

I don’t want to exercise/be healthy: That’s okay too. That’s honesty. Just know if you decide to make some kind of change, you’ll add years to your life. Otherwise, let the medications pile up and watch your health fail.

So it’s all on you…foster fear and failure or foster health and happiness.

I vote for happy.

Leave a Reply

