You CAN workout…so get off your ass.

To workout or not to workout had never been a question, it was a decision made before I crawled out from between the covers in the morning. My weight loss doctor would ask me naggingly constantly if I had been to the gym. Three months of that led me to hire a personal trainer for six weeks just to keep him quiet. I thought I’d outsmart him with reverse psychology.

Six weeks later, I ate the proverbial crow pie: 17″ and 25lbs lost.

I have learned there is no valid excuse not to workout.

  • I am way too busy. If you watch American Idol, The Voice, and The Walking Dead with religious vigor– AND you DVR those shows (or others), you got the time.
  • I can’t do what people half my age do.
    Really? Madonna Buder has competed in over 45 triathlons. She started training when she was 48 years old. Her first Ironman was at the age of 55. In 2005 she completed the Hawaii Ironman at 75, she was the oldest woman ever to finish the race. Ironman adds new age brackets as she continues to compete. She’s best known as “The Iron Nun”.
  • Nobody will workout with me. Not true. You can find a workout buddy, they’ll challenge you and you can motivate each other. Ask my friend Anne, last summer we spent almost every weekend together at Weekend Warrior Boot Camp. She recently turned 59 (again). Just this weekend I chased her around the football field.
  • Working out is boring. Not if you add variety. Not everyone has to run. There’s the elliptical, rowing machine, Zumba (you brave, brave souls), spin, kickboxing, yoga, cross fit…the list is endless. Playlists are a big help, too!
  • I have kids, they take up all of my time. They don’t take up all your time (they sleep, right?). Get up early , or workout after they are down for the night. If they are babysat by TV, movies and video games, turn them off and get outside. Play sports, go to the park, hit the beach, hike, bike, walk, run, or create a Family Boot Camp. You’ll get some quality time with your kids and together model a healthy lifestyle.
  • My back/knees/hips/elbows/fingernail hurts. I sprained my back during a training session one night. Stairs hurt my knees. Running irritates the muscles which wrap around my left hip. My left shoulder has been dislocated twice, presently I have a fracture that’s three or four years old and a torn muscle. I have to have a total knee replacement. What’s your excuse?
  • I’m too fat, I can’t workout. That’s better translated to “I’m too fat, I don’t want to workout.”
  • I’m not overweight. What? You thought this was just for fat people? Not all skinny people are fit people. Exercise is just as beneficial for skinny people as it is for fat people.
  • My friend is a gym rat, there ain’t no way. My therapist said I would become a “gym rat”. A friend of mine who lost over 200lbs by living in the gym would workout three to four hours a day. I thought they were both nuts. I have since digressed. I usually spend no less than two hours working out.
  • My (insert illness here) makes it hard to get around. Talk to your physician, who will tell you to move. The Government says cancer survivors, those with arthritis, have had a stroke, have Parkinson’s, are mentally ill, even those who are disabled can all benefit from exercise.
  • I’m depressed. Great! Studies have strongly suggested regular exercise is helpful in fighting off depression!

You don’t have a valid excuse, so get off your ass and take a walk!

Leave a Reply

