Fat Facts“Do you realize you have gained 50lbs since May?” My primary care physician said this to me one fall not too long ago. I had been in and out of his office for list of health issues, the majority of which were directly tied to my penchant for 1/2 gallon containers of Moose Tracks, family sized boxes of Stouffers Mac & Cheese,  & a large pizza or two (I could eat those all in one night).  I wasn’t quite 40, and the chances of my not seeing 50 had increased tenfold.

Fat people tend not to live very long.

Fat Facts:

  • Almost 70 percent of adults in the United States are overweight or obese (-CDC).
  • Obesity is a major factor in most persons who die from heart disease, cancer, stroke, diabetes and kidney disease (-CDC).
  • Losing 5 to 7 percent of your total body weight could lower the chances of full blown diabetes in 60 percent of those diagnosed with pre-diabetes (my weight loss doctor, news sites, CDC).
  • Diabetes carries an annual cost of $6k per person ($150 billion per year nationally). Costs typically increase $1,400 per year if obesity is a factor (-CDC).
  • In 2008 obesity related health care costs were reported to have been $147 billion. If the trend continues, those costs will exceed $300 billion by 2018.
  • Workers who are obese are less likely to be promoted than co-workers who are fit, and make less money too (-Cornwell).
  • From 1995-2010, adult obesity increased by more than 31 percent in Michigan (where I live) (-CDC).

Other Fat Facts

  • Obese persons are treated entirely different than non-obese persons, a fact  I have sadly experienced.
  • Obese persons miss out on excellent employment opportunities they’re more than qualified for because of the Fat Factor. Most employers do not want their company represented by someone who is obese (this was horribly realized by myself recently).
  • I noticed my wallet did not expense that much more making healthy food choices as it expensed when I lived in the drive-thru.
  • Booths are not fat friendly. I couldn’t sit at one for over four years.

There is nothing easy about living a fat life. If you’re overweight or severely obese, consider making some changes. Talk with your physician, hook up with the weight loss center associated with their practice (they’ll have one). Losing 5 to 7 percent of your current body weight will increase your life expectancy – and there is nothing wrong with that!

Leave a Reply

