I sat in a recliner/rocking chair today. Hung my legs over the side, rocked. Hung one leg over, tucked the other in the chair, rocked. Pulled my legs up, wrapped my arms around my knees, rocked. Later I planted my hands on the arms, pushed myself up a bit, sat Indian style, hugged myself, and loudly announced to my friend Lisa: “I FEEL SO SMALL!!” – and rocked.

Some of you read that and thought, “So…I have a recliner that rocks. Not a big deal.” My girth measured 5.25 feet (curtains come in 5.25′ lengths), and my highest weight calculated to just under 20% of the mass of a short ton. A recliner (that rocks) is an obstacle just as big as I was.

As big as a piece of furniture.

Evidenced by my weird compulsion over the past twenty-seven months to post gobs of before and after pictures on Social Media and scribble my athletic escapades on the internet for all to see, I have humbly been awarded lots of upward thumbs and high-fives. I see notes and receive comments which say “Great job!”, “Congratulations!”, “You look great!”, “What an inspiration!”.

Inspiration. A word which has been spoken into my life (or in print, both apply) over and over and over again by my friends, family, acquaintances. In small and large communications with my friends, family, and acquaintances the words “I wish I could ______” (fill in the blank) come up along with a story of how they want to lose weight, get in shape, wear that dress, go on a date, get off medications, tie their shoes, start a family, life a better and healthier lifestyle. They tell me all of this after they state I’m an inspiration.

If I were this “inspiration” to you: my friends, family, and acquaintances…I’m a poor one because you’re not motivated to move. At. All. I’ve visted you, called you, texted you, emailed you, Facebooked you. I’ve invited you to The Fit Pit, offered to share my sessions with you & have you meet the guy who has motivated me to be healthy. He and his wife also inspired me to start a boot camp class which I’ve invited you: my friends, family, and acquaintances, to attend – via all the outlets above (and in person). You: my friends, family, and acquaintances have said to me (you know, the one you said “What an inspiration!” to):

“I thought that was an invitation for the blog…”
“I have to go grocery shopping…”
“OH MY G…that’s just TOO EARLY!”
“Oh no, too late in the day…” but.you.just.told.me.it was too early?
“At the Pig & Whiskey…” (it’s a night-spot)
“My shows are on…”
“It’s too hot…”
“It’s too cold…”
“I have a gym membership…” aaaaaand???
“I’m sleeping in…”
“I’m planning for the Sunday flu…” yes, this happened.
“Laundry day, cleaning the house later, and my shows are on…”
“My car broke…”

You’re not motivated, and I cannot for the life of me understand why. YOU: my friends, family, and acquaintances, who tell me I am an inspiration – with the knowledge I used to be as big as a recliner – would dare to say to ME your “I wish I could _____” (fill in the blank) with your story of how you want to lose weight, get in shape, wear that dress, go on a date, get off medications, tie your shoes, start a family, life a better and healthier lifestyle.

You’re not motivated. That sucks.

Only Your Best. No Excuses. Never Quit.

Only Your Best. No Excuses. Never Quit.

Leave a Reply

