I am not a scale person. Although I own a scale (second ever – the first one broke when I slid it across the kitchen floor last year), I do not stand on it six thousand times a day. Maybe two or three times a month.

Today I stood on it and it read I had lost 15lbs. I was SUPER STOKED. But…I had an inner child screaming: move the scale! move the scale! So…I moved the scale. Three inches.

Damn thing said I weighed 15lbs more than I did three inches earlier!

Never did I want to whip an object out of the window quite as desperately as I wanted to at 7:30 this morning.

I don’t know how other women do it. I read posts and stories online all the time about how so-and-so weighs three pounds more now than they did two hours ago; a few post what the scale reflects after they…um…you know…”go”; others on and off and on and off an on and off. Good God. I never hear about guys doing that…do guys do that??

So…I shoved the stupid, effing Square of Despair back in the corner next to the laundry bin and hopped in the shower (Gonna wash that scale right outta my hair). I usually feel better after a long hot shower. Wasn’t the case this morning, I was incredibly bothered by the entire episode – all three inches of it.

Then there’s the whole clothing issue. I’ve got one pair of jeans I wear on a regular basis, the others are too big. I can’t seem to get rid of them because…well…what if…(tends to play out like a Rodgers & Hammerstein musical). My friend, Anne, pointed out two weeks ago this particular pair of jeans were too big. I had a pair of jeans hidden in a drawer – well, actually I had TWO pair of hidden jeans. The second pair are skinny jeans. I can’t wear them in public. I just laugh and laugh and laugh. I pulled the non-skinny jeans.

I about died. I got one leg in and didn’t get the “we’re too tight, not going up” message, got the other leg in with the same result. After I got them up I stared at myself in the mirror, found a tank top and whipped out my iPhone.

This is when I started my weight loss journey:

When I Began

Before & After – 2 years apart

15 months apart

Comments
  1. Gi says:

    No I don’t think guys weigh themselves as much as we do……I had the same thing happen a few years ago, not thinking I got on the scale and it said I lost 23lbs now at that time I was weighing in at least once a week so I knew something was wrong. I moved the scale from my bathroom to my kitchen and it said I had lost like 3lbs. So what was the difference you ask….my bathroom had carpet and my kitchen was linoleum…who knew…..but I was MAD!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

